Aberta Environment and Protected Areas

Regulatory Assurance Division Regulatory Programs Branch 2nd Floor, Petroleum Plaza, South Tower 9915 – 108 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2G8 Canada Telephone: 780-427-5828 http://www.ea.alberta.ca

October 31, 2024

Trent Caskey Director of Property Administration Special Areas Board PO Box 820 Hanna, AB T0J 1P0

Dear Mr. Caskey:

Further to your e-mail of October 24, 2024, I wish to advise you that the proposed MD of Acadia and Special Areas Joint Irrigation Project is a mandatory activity pursuant to Schedule 1(c)(ii) and (e) of the Environmental Assessment (Mandatory and Exempted Activities) Regulation. MD of Acadia and Special Areas Board is required, pursuant to Section 44(1)(a) of the *Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act* (EPEA), to prepare and submit an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report for this project. The EIA report is to be prepared in accordance with the provisions of Division 1 of Part 2 of EPEA.

If you have any questions or require further direction about the Environmental Assessment process, please contact Meghan Jurijew at 780-643-6853.

At this time I would recommend you contact the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (IAAC) to discuss the potential submission of a federal project description and any federal environmental assessment requirements under the *Impact Assessment Act.* I would also encourage you to contact Laura Friend (<u>laura.friend@nrcb.ca</u> or 403-297-8269) of the Natural Resources Conservation Board (NRCB) to discuss any potential application requirements they may have.

MD of Acadia and Special Areas Board should also note that the Government of Alberta's Indigenous consultation policies and guidelines may apply to this project. For more information, please contact the Aboriginal Consultation Office.

Sincerely,

Lori Havanka Approvals Program Manager Regulatory Assurance Section Environment and Protected Areas (Designated Director, *Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act*)

cc: L. Friend (NRCB) pnr-rpn@iaac-aeic.gc.ca (IAAC) T. Aasen (EPA) ACSW.HistoricalLup@gov.ab.ca (ACSW) T. Holden (IR)